Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Tow Truck Flipping Over Ford Explorer

To the contrary gents, I've been teaching a similar quick clearance technique for several years especially for rotation towers on the highway as does some states like Ohio. In Tennessee, the HELP (roadside safety program) uses a similar procedure to roll-over and push to the side for quick clear. Perhaps this is a newer technique where you may not have seen it done? Because you haven't seen it doesn't make it improper. It's relatively new and few towers use it based on whether or not they're willing to accept new techniques or use the same old ones. This tow company is an OPG (official police garage) in Southern California and is working at the bequest of law enforcement. I'd venture to say this is an experienced tower who evaluated this scene. I teach a similar procedure a bit differently in my CHP rotation course in the best interest of quick clear that includes placement of 4x4's on the pavement to arrest rollaway or add a one-inch motorcycle strap to the casualty's emergency brake. If the vehicle's on its side like the video shows, whether or not the tow truck pulls it over or is winched over, the vehicle still drops to the pavement either way.  With the highway patrol or DPS in position to make a traffic break, the tower moves into position, attaches chain to the casualty, set the blocks, then simply yet slowly pulls forward to effect the drop.