Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Starting up a tow business

Illwill

Hello my name is william, I am a tow truck operator from California of 12 years experience. I am currently living in Arizona and I am looking into starting up a tow business. I am very green, I am trying to organize what to do first. I have created a name for myself. I am trying to get information on what legal documents I need to file and how to acquire permits. I am also in the process of truck shopping. Any suggestions will help me out on my journey owning a legit professional tow company ready to serve the public. Thank you for your time 

• Like 1

First I would ask yourself why you want to be in business for yourself. Being your own boss is great and there are immense rewards, but there is a heck of a lot of responsibility. The buck and final decisions start and end with you.

Write your answers down on paper. 

Ask yourself who will be your target niche. Law enforcement rotation towing is robust, but you are going to have to be available 24/7/365/366 on leap year. Which is this year. Motorclubs provide a lot of work, but their rates do not even cover ones cost many times. 

I strongly suggest taking the RBU class as well as wreckmaster certification classes. RBU will open your eyes to the business end, while wreckmaster will teach you the skillset you will need to be successful in the trenches. 

START SMALL. Yes, I am yelling. When you go to the bank next time look at all the glass, marble, stainless steel, and opulence. That is your money being put into play. 

Banks are not your friend. They are not a great or even mediocre partner either. They are like a tick on a dog. No disrespect to ticks. 

Start small and keep your money in your wallet.  

That commercial that states, "What's in your wallet?" It is a parasite sucking the marrow from your soul.

Edited by goodmichael
  • Like 1