Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Winch Cable.

Happy New Year everyone hope everyone is in good health. I am new to towing (been doing it about a year now). I have a 2005  Ford F-650 Century Rollback Tow Truck and I am begining to notice that the winch cable seems to be on its way out and I am looking to replace it before it really gets bad.. I need some help in which cable should I choose I am seeing alot when I use google but would like some more info on what should I be looking for exactly. I know want a steel cable but I am seeing a few different ones. Can some one give me some pointers in what i should be looking for as in quality. Fibre Core or Steel

Edited by NewTower

A steel swag is the best imo they last way longer but are stiffer and takes a little more to train them to lay on the spool. Apparently a 3/8 swag is originally a 7/16 cable that's been stretched down to a 3/8.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

1 hour ago, Bushwacker said:

A steel swag is the best imo they last way longer but are stiffer and takes a little more to train them to lay on the spool. Apparently a 3/8 swag is originally a 7/16 cable that's been stretched down to a 3/8.

Thank you so much as i go google this lingo you sent me. I Just found some difference in the winch cable Fibre and Steel core, it was talking about the Fibre is more flexible vs the steel core..  That made me start to wonder since it has to be reeled in on the winch system if it would be better than the steel core

I think it depends on what you are planning to do with the truck. If most of your tows are just vehicles broke down along the highway, and you are not doing many hard recovery pulls I think the Fiber will work great, and it is easier to manage. It seems the steel core ones tend to want to curl back up after you pull them off the winch. That is just my opinion take it as you want!