Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Winch rope extensions

Andy

Im new to the recovery winch out side of this field so I have no idea what to expect when using extensions, but  I feel the need for synthetic winch rope extensions there expensive so id like to try and get this order right the first time.  I know several of my recoveries a 200 foot extension would have decreased my time and effort a lot. So I am thinking about these lengths.

One 100 foot maybe even a second ? 

one 50 foot 

and two 25 foot lengths. 

One question that I ask myself is the type of ends for sure id like to be able to hook at least one end to a hook or chain? Or both and then I wonder if I should have a hook on one end and a ring on the other end large enough to pass a hook or chain through? The next would be what size or strength I have an MPL40 8000 pound winches if that helps. 1/2” might be more weight to drag up and down steep inclines in deep snow but it might also hold up longer to the abuse they might see and may also survive dragging a car up a steep incline. But I really dont know. Thanks Andy 

I made some things up as we went along, not by the book maybe, but it works.

I have two old 3/8 wire ropes that I have made ~80 foot extensions out of, they have the original hook on one end, and loop on the other.  The loop end that I terminate with cable clamps is weaker that the factory end, so bear that in mind when using it.  

When using the loop end, I use a clevis, I don't just run a chain against the cable.  They are a PITA to store, we wrap them around old wheels that we have modified to hold them.