Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Holmes 850 Question

We have a holmes 850 that has a custom hydraulic boom... I've heard both ways on this question and would like some more answers... Can I run a low line from boom to tailboard and out without damage to the gearbox... the owner had exploded a gearbox on his 750 years back and has been told to never do this with a holmes as they are not designed for it and it puts alot of stress on the gearbox... is this true with the 850 as well?

Michael....I have been working 750 s and latterly the 850  for many years and running low lines through a block  onto the transom and down onto the spades was a regular occurrence...they are an incredibly versatile piece of equipment and I cant see how it puts unnecessary  loading  through the box..

Providing they are regularly maintained....

I have broken hooks, chains, shackles and other things strained ....even bent a boom  .,.,....but we never  broke a gearbox ...

John.

Thank you, I do not have too much experience with these. Just going off of word I've been told I can't imagine any additional stress but its concerning once someone puts the idea in your head who has had a gearbox break... could've just been its time to go tho.. 

2 minutes ago, mushspeed said:

Michael....I have been working 750 s and latterly the 850  for many years and running low lines through a block  onto the transom and down onto the spades was a regular occurrence...they are an incredibly versatile piece of equipment and I cant see how it puts unnecessary  loading  through the box..

Providing they are regularly maintained....

I have broken hooks, chains, shackles and other things strained ....even bent a boom  .,.,....but we never  broke a gearbox ...

John.