Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Watch out for that dolly bar!

Topic was originally created by fulltimer2 in November of 2006.

I have been towing for over 15 years and have always been reminded about locking in the safety catch's on dollies. A few times the bar has come back at me but I have been able to stop the bar from hitting myself, but the other day a new employee was loading a Toyota 4x4 and she was hit on the side of the head by the bar. She is OK and will be back at work on Tuesday (this happened Friday). So to all out there please help out that new driver, or the person that looks like he or she could use some help, have safty meetings regarding dollies and the procedure in using them. Thanks Chuck.

91429fcf3d8ae1a10490d54b9387999f44c964a5

ibflat2 said:

yeah it hurts big time, and you are right Training is the key..

Coe Consulting / Fleet west have a video (dvd) out on use of dollies which is good ..

towmanjc said:

I always keep a hand on the dolly bar!!!Joe O`Brien
Weavertown Towing & Recovery - Pgh,Pa

mballor r53_1559570274.gif said:

I've heard of broken jaws from those before, i'm not sure if its true but after i was told that i always stopped and made sure i had everything right before i released the dolly with the bar. I always make sure my head is not in the way just in case, never lean towards the car, and just take your time.

fulltimer2 said:

This driver was shown the procedure in using dollies and has used them before without incident. It was just an unfortunate accident.

91429fcf3d8ae1a10490d54b9387999f44c964a5

SlimSanta r52_1559570274.gif said:

I see a new design on a set of dollies that would prevent that type of accident.

Dakota Service & Repair, Brookings, SD

1521584cc3a771db893ad521254b496b8ab29cf.

danielswt said: