Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Looking for advice…. New owner

nitrostowing

I’m a new business owner but have years of towing experience.   Looking for advice on how to ramp up business.  Some say motor clubs, some say forget it.  Insurance is enough to about kill a new business.   Our company is purely towing and recover and we do not have heavy equipment.   Just trying to figure out how to survive the first year or 2.  

With all due respect, it's a difficult task. Unless you were in uncharted waters where nobody else worked primarily, there's typically a lot more guys then needed in any given area. In my opinion, Motorclub work is the beginning to the end...more so now more then ever. The only real profit being made off of clubs is when you're non-contracted and hit them for what it's really worth or better. Unfortunately that isn't going to be much volume that way. Non consensual Police towing is typically some of the highest paying work out there but you can't live off of it. Unless you are in a large metropolitan area and then I would assume there are quite a few getting a piece of the pie. I say "Typically" because I have seen some police rotations in the country that certainly aren't worth the effort. Non consensual Private Property towing can be lucrative but prepare yourself for the misery that goes with it... Don't anticipate a Google rating over 2.0...LoL It's only viable again if you are in a higher population area. It's not a big factor in my town.