Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Had to pay my first damage claim

Tow411

Topic Originally Created by fairway in August of 2008:

Well, I have had bogus claims in the past and they have all been determined to not be my fault. But after 3 years as a AAA contractor, I finally get to pay out for a claim. I got a call to jump start a 2002 Toyota Rav-4 over the weekend. Well Monday morning I was informed that I cracked her windshield, today the field rep looked at the damage and said it appears that the crack originated from the battery area. So I get to lay out $316.00 for a new windshield, for a jumpstart that I got less than $25 for. Fun, fun, fun.

EdsTowing said:

Is there any chance that you could of done the crack? That seems like a stretch to me....

fairway said:

It wasn't cracked when i left. She did take it to a shop and had a new battery installed, but insisted that is was cracked before she took it for the new battery.

EdsTowing said:

That's a tough call Al. There have been times where I thought that "some battles aren't worth the fight"...This is screwy deal though. The shame of it is...the shop probably said it was like that when it came in.... Was the member there when you were doing the job?

It's a judgement call at best. Good luck with your decision.

Auto Rescue said:

I'm sorry but for the life of me as many things as I could see being blamed on a jump start a windshield is not one of them unless a huge gust of wind came along just as I opened the hood and if the windshield did get cracked by it we'd both have known about it at the time it happened.

Wally868 said: