Jump to content
  • Join the TowForce community.

    It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

DPS Ramping Up Move Over/Slow Down Enforcement (TX)


Recommended Posts



DPS Ramping Up Move Over/Slow Down Enforcement


The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is beginning enforcement efforts across the state focusing specifically on violations of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law. These periodic enforcement operations by DPS Troopers are planned throughout the year at various locations in Texas, with several operations planned in December. One of those operations will take place in Southeast Texas throughout the day on Wednesday, December 19. The Department of Transportation will be participating in a non-enforcement capacity.


The law, originally passed in 2003, requires motorists to move over or slow down when certain vehicles – including police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks – are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated.


“Our Highway Patrol Troopers and other offices risk their lives every day for the people of Texas, and their safety is particularly vulnerable while working on the side of the road, where the slightest mistake by a passing motorist can end in tragedy,” said DPS Director Steven McCraw. “While our officers are serving and protecting Texans, we’re asking drivers to do their part by adhering to the law – simply move over or slow down.”


Specifically, Texas law states that a driver must either:
• Vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction) or
• Slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow down to 5 mph)

Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and legally; otherwise, they should slow down.


“In light of the numerous vehicle crashes that occur in Texas and across the nation on a daily basis, and the unfortunate fact that many still violate the state law that has been in effect for 15 years, we are increasing our enforcement and education efforts related to this law,” said Director McCraw. “In addition to complying with the law to protect those who work on the side of the road, we encourage motorists to show the same courtesy to fellow drivers stopped along the roadways. Let’s all get home safely.”


Violations of the law can result in a fine of up to $200; the fine increases to $500 if there is property damage. If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.


Preliminary data from January through October 2018 shows that DPS issued more than 35,000 warnings and citations to motorists violating the Move Over /Slow Down law.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

I see a double edged sword here that comes with special enforcement and stopping cars for failing to Slow-Down Move-Over. The problem I foresee is, when troopers make a traffic stop for SDMO, they put themselves in harm's way especially if the revert to cop mentality that makes them tend to be a little complacement when they don't approach and make motorist contact from the non-traffic side of the vehicle. But, how else will the message of SDMO take hold if motorists aren't cited and have to pay for the violation. Besides, writing SDMO citations is not intended as a money stream, but as life-saving enforcement.     R.

Randall C. Resch

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...
Please Sign In or Sign Up