Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Holmes 440 Discussion

TowZone

06 Aug 2009 00:01

Brent Said:

i just bought an 83 Chevy k30 with a holmes 440. the winch is hydro run. it also has a wheel lift. the hydro pump is run off the motor belts. i am looking for some info about it. was it just converted to hydro or is it a different winch. is the lift an add on or did it come that way. what hydro fluid does it take.any help would be great. sorry the pics are not the best. having so trouble uploading some of them.

MN440A.md.jpg MN440B.md.jpg MN440C.md.jpg

here are some more pics. i am new to towing. i have never done this before. in mn you have to reg. by gvw. how high should i get it for. should the boom be raised or what do you mean. what higher holes were you talking about. we get very cold up here. so i will go with the 32. where can i get new levers for the controllers. one is broke and the others look like chain links holding them in. also i am missing the crank handle to raise the boom.

MN440D.md.jpg MN440E.md.jpg

i have a lot of work to do before i start towing. the king pins and most bushing and tie rods need replaced. the carb needs work. lights and electrical need some tending to. i will be going through the whole truck lubing and checking stuff.

DrHook541 said:

They added the hydraulic system when they added the wheellift. You can see where they cut the front of the body to fit the hydraulic motor for the winch. The chain drive came up from the bottom before. The cut for the wheellift looks a lot better.
I am curious why the sling is mounted so low on the rear plate. I would move it up to the higher holes so you can get a safer lift on pickups and vans without your sling bars going past level. You will be using the wheellift more, anyway, probably.