Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

12-27-2008: truckin24 joins tow411

TowZone

Original post by: Truckin24 who is a Tow Truck Fan from Germany.

Hello all together, over the Christmas days I found this very, very interesting forum.

I'm not a owner of a company in the business of towing. I'm a class 8 truck driver in the middle of Germany near Hannover.

truckin24vogelsangactros1841megaspacemed

Every day I'm on the road with my three axle trailer.

WebPeterbilt%20Wrecker%20(Small).jpg

I'm a fan of Tow Trucks made in America and a enthusiastic model builder. I build Tow Trucks and Fire Apparatus.

In April 1991 I've visit the Stepp's Towing Service company in Tampa, FL.

The reason was the development of a new truck item for Revell of Germany.

Todd Stepp gave us his O.K. for this big project. One week I was on the yard and shot more than 500 photos and took 800 - 1000 measures of Stepp's new Peterbilt 379 with Challenger 8808 body. Back in my office I started with the development of an impressive Tow Truck model. Maybe somebody knows this big kit with more than 400 pieces.

WebPeterbilt%20Wrecker,%20Handmuster%201

1995 I've made the second model kit, an Kenworth W900 with body by Miller - Industries.

Owner of the original is Fred Viohl in Haverstraw, NY. Together with a friend I was also one week of Freds yard.

From 1990 - 1999 I've visit some states in the US. Several times I was in Orlando and saw the Tow Show, visited Tim Jackson ( Tow Times Magazine ), went over the Tennessee for a short stop at Miller - Industries and made a big turn through different other states.

1999 I've written a book about Tow Trucks in Amerika, in German language.