Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

The Ex Kauffs Mean Machine Restoration ( 5 Years on )

Topic Originally Created on Tow411 in July of 2006:

I had gotten round to take some pics of the Famous twin steer AUTOCAR I had been Restoring for several years on and off !!

I had a call from Bill Ludewig of Ernies Towing Service and he kindly sent me some pics of the a/car working stateside and confirming that it came from the Kauffs Stable in Florida.......
Thanks Bill You are a Star!!!

ACAR2.thumb.jpg.f181b2007724df48d1b5fb813566d6d8.jpg

ACAR1.thumb.jpg.16ed9567c10be09656b7a8d3880e840f.jpg

ACAR3.thumb.jpg.e2540f5b1114749a5fce2bc04889008a.jpg

ACAR5.thumb.jpg.cb302afad31df505970e3ca5197bbb14.jpg

ACAR4.thumb.jpg.f473c052411c5e3941f127352186cb22.jpg

t Does not look like it but I had spent hundreds of hours making up new panels for the doors and A posts as they had gone quite rusty.
Unfortunately, I have not moved along as quickly as I should have done there is always more urgent things to do!!
like Painting the house, laying a new driveway, fitting a new kitchen, fitting a new bathroom etc etc !

Any way I am Back on the Case, all of the Junk that has accumulated around it is now being moved and we are making up new front mud shields and steps.

I hope to finish the panel work in the next 3 months and then we will get it into the paint booth.................................. A nice paint Job..........Bucket loads of Chrome and it will be ready to roll.

I do need some parts for it and I will post a want list soon if anyone can help me, as autocar parts in Europe are as rare as Hens Teeth !!

Be Safe, Be Lucky.
May all of your Punctures be little ones, 'cos it's only flat on the bottom.
John

www.castlerecovery.com

Rotator60 said:

Thank you for restoring that ole girl. That 850 Holmes was a bad ass unit and that whole truck was awesome.