Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Personal use, Rollback project

Hi all,  I am not a pro, but I am an ASE master tech and have an addiction to anything gearhead, as well as welding and metal fabrication.  I recently purchased a non-running 2004 Isuzu FRR with 21 ft Century steel bed rollback and wheel lift at a local equipment auction.  Working on getting it running and all fixed up for fun adventures. I figure why buy a car trailer when I can have a rollback?  In addition to pulling my old boat, I love going to auctions and trying my luck.  I am sure I will have questions along the way,  I'll be posting a tread about fixing this thing later as I don't have much experience with these trucks,  I love COE's though. Had a UD years ago when i had a small business in the mountains,  Loved that truck and always regret selling it.   I also got a whole bunch of amber lightbars and beacons that I fixed up and will have for sale shortly. 

HlMm48EOlzN4JzXnmsi6UCRZn_8_8bVgcsdHlCoQ

Truck pic

• 3 weeks later...
LOL speaking from experience, make sure you have NOT FOR HIRE pasted all over that sucker.  depending on the state, they will mess with you. cool truck tho.  I have a Mitsubishi fuso wrecker version of yours. good trucks.
Thanks, yeah I plan to put that on it. Not sure if NV will let me register it as an RV, but I know I can be exempt from the commercial weight fee. Just sent the ECM out to be repaired (hopefully). At least it's at the dealer's lot and not mine so I have room to work on my old boat project for a couple weeks.

I would strongly suggest that you replace those L arms. Personally, I do not trust that design. Also ensure that the vertical pin that secures the receiver pin to the swivel is in place. It will certainly eliminate a great deal of risk.