Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

Ford F-550 Question

I'm fairly new to Med-Duty towing, and I was just wondering where most of you guys would pick on an F-550 4x4 from the front. Would you fork the axle, or do you usually break out the wheel grids, or is there a spot on the frame somewhere that's easy? I had a loaded F-550 dump truck the other day, and I just forked the axle, I later heard from somewhere that the axle tube could be bent on those, on certain occasions. Just wondering if that is legit or not. Thanks for your input!

I have a odd set of forks for them I've forked the front axel I've grabbed the rear frame it's just according to where and how they are sitting I always go for the easiest way. But I've don't think you have to worry about bending the axel tube!

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Some 450’s & 550’s have cooler lines on inside or frame, just open plastic retainers & re position lines to avoid forks.

We also remove the late model larger lower air dam to prevent any contact damage(simple removal, about 10 8mm screws)  & most importantly, be sure forks & crossbar are secured to prevent any rearward movement 45EFEFA9-FCE9-49CC-90A6-30860531ABC5.thumb.jpeg.4ee43ddae643339efabb09fc204ab68c.jpeg

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Yea I just used a regular set of miller frame forks on the axle, but none of the ones I had just fit real nice in there. It had a little bit of slop in there. Just Chuckud if you usally have to double pick it with those Super Duty forks? Thanks  for the comments guys!

• Like 1

Yea I probably would have got it from the rear, but he had the dump bed loaded to the max with concrete blocks, I believe he probably was overweight! So I had tow it a little distance, and I was a little worried about putting all that weight on the front axle.

3 hours ago, EdsTowing said: