Quantcast
  • Join the TowForce community.

It looks like you're not logged in. Register to get started and to receive Tower Down Notices.

General Questions

Hello Guys, I am a mechanic shop owner and looking to expand my business with my tow truck. I signed up for some motor clubs and have been doing some work for them for about a month now. I just wanted to reach out and see what were some common uncharges you guys send to these companies? Use of ramps, soft straps, etc. Any insight would be appreciated!

Thanks

Hello and welcome to the forums. As far as up charges and the mighty motor clubs go, If you use it, you can charge for it. In theory. But, If you have signed a contract with them, You will have to read through it with a fine tooth comb to make sure your allowed to do so. Some clubs require you to call them to make adjustments to equipment BEFORE you use it. This can obviously be a time-consuming and aggravating venture if your in the middle of doing a tow. 

Now, I will admit, I am probably not the best person to really help answer this question Namely because I no longer have any motor club contracts and any work I do perform for them is treated as a cash customer with full rates paid up front via c.c. . You being a repair shop and using your truck as a supplement income then maybe doing some contracted club work is the way to go. If you look through some of the motor club posts on this forum you will see my reasoning ( and alot of other towers on here too) for not doing any contracted work for them. 

So, long story short, read your contract carefully. I am sure they touch on the subject in there somewhere. Good luck Sir.

PROFESSIONAL TOWING & RECOVERY IS NOT JUST A JOB.. IT IS A LIFESTYLE

Good Morning, Welcome